High-functioning

My casual teaching this week included a classroom of children with varying degrees of autism, as well as other special needs. It was different to anything I had experienced while on prac, but a rewarding experience nonetheless. Initially, I found myself  allowing the children to misbehave or not listen to my instructions. It was hard to know how to manage them, as I was unsure of what they were usually expected to do.

Things they liked: using the IWB, listening to stories, playing “hi-five”, and singing “Old MacDonald”

Things they didn’t like: waiting, writing, resting, and having their routines disrupted.

I would certainly take the class again if I was requested to. It was an enjoyable experience, although it took a bit of time before the children were comfortable interacting with me.

Leave a Reply

